Old South Shields

Local History for Tyne & Wear
jimpintin
Geet Quiet
Geet Quiet

Old South Shields

Post by jimpintin »

Does anyone know if Lower Thames Street Westoe still exists? My great grand father lived there at the time of the 1901 Census but I have not been able to locate it on any online maps etc. Maybe the area was redeveloped? I can't come and look for my self as I'm in Australia!

Appreciate any information. Thanks
comeonthen
Full Time Gobber
Full Time Gobber

Re: Old South Shields

Post by comeonthen »

sorry to say mate but it was pulled down and redeveloped a lot of years ago. The local library have maps dating from the 1800s. If these are available on line you will be able to see where your ancestors lived and get a feeling for the area. Good luck.I am new to the internet so maybe someone knows if the maps are on line. If I have any photos of the area I will send them to you.
comeonthen
jimpintin
Geet Quiet
Geet Quiet

Post by jimpintin »

Thank you comeonthen. I suspected as much. I might follow up with the library as you suggest -or come over sometime for a look around! I was there briefly in 1970 but knew nothing of the ancestors then. Pity. My great-grandparents lived and died there and my grandfather came out here around 1900. Any photos of the area would be great to have. Thanks again
baldy.smith

Post by baldy.smith »

Look at this site and you'll find what you want.

http://www.old-maps.co.uk/

8)
jimmywizz
Full Time Gobber
Full Time Gobber

Post by jimmywizz »

hi jimpintin welcome to sunny south shields
jimpintin
Geet Quiet
Geet Quiet

Post by jimpintin »

Thanks to baldy.smith for the maps link -I found Thames St on an 1862 map of South Shields, north of what was then King Street. This seems to be in Westoe Ward. No Thames St in Westoe (village?) further south.

Thanks also to the welcome from jimmywizz from sunny South Shields. Sunny here in Canberra today as well -about 25C and blue skies but 200km/2hrs drive to the beach!
Barney